James J. Coffey ‘69 MBA

James J. Coffey ‘69 MBA, attorney and professor emeritus of accounting, has been appointed to the SUNY Plattsburgh College Council. Coffey currently serves as attorney to the towns of Plattsburgh and Ellenburg and previously served as county attorney during his nearly 50-year career.

Christopher P. Mottern ’66

Christopher P. Mottern ’66  has who has served as a Director on the Company’s Board since 2013, has been appointed to serve as Interim Chief Executive Officer of Farmer Bros. Co.  Mr. Mottern brings more than 40 years of experience in the food and beverage industry, having served as CEO of Peet’s Coffee & Tea, President of The Heublein Wines Group, and CEO of Capri Sun, Inc.

Michael G. Wheeler ’69


Michael G. Wheeler ’69 has joined Gateway Financial Partners as an advisor to its local team in Glastonbury, CT.  Mr. Wheeler has been an investment advisor since February 2010 and has worked with numerous and diverse clients, advising them on a wide variety of financial planning, investment management and wealth management consulting assignments.

Timothy Vellrath ’69, 96 MBA

Timothy Vellrath ’69, 96 MBA has recently accepted the 2014 Excellence in Construction Innovation award presented by the Association of Walls and Ceilings Industries.  Mr. Vellrath accepted the award for Vellrath Engineering for their development of the Universal Fireproofing Patch.  The award recognizes products, services, materials, technologies or systems that improve the means and methods utilized in the wall and ceiling industry.

Ronald A. Pace ’69, ‘72 MBA

Ronald A. Pace ’69, ‘72 MBA was elected to the Ariens Company Board of Directors.  Mr. Pace is currently group president of interiors for the Kohler Company. He also serves on the Boards of Road America as well as The Milwaukee Masterpiece.  He is a guest lecturer as well as an Adjunct Professor at Marquette’s Graduate School of Business.

Scott S. Cowen ’68

Scott S. Cowen ’68  has been elected to the board of directors at Barnes and Noble. He currently serves as the president of Tulane University in New Orleans. President Cowen also holds the titles of Seymour S. Goodman Memorial Professor of Business in Tulane’s A.B. Freeman School of Business and Professor of Economics in the School of Liberal Arts.

Scott S. Cowen, PhD ’68, ’10

Scott S. Cowen, PhD ’68, ’10 has been recognized at the 2013 Edith Stern Legacy Award Luncheon for his commitment to education, community service and civic engagement.  The award is given each year to an individual who demonstrates exceptional commitment to civic virtues and cultural values.  Dr. Scott Cowen is currently the president of Tulane University.

Scott S. Cowen ’68

Scott S. Cowen ’68 has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus by the UConn Alumni Association. Mr. Cowen is currently the president of Tulane University and is being honored for rebuilding the school after Hurricane Katrina, establishing a charter school, and creating a public service requirement for undergraduates to help the city of New Orleans.

David P. Marks ’69, ‘71 MBA

David P. Marks ’69, ‘71 MBA has joined Conning Holdings Corporation’s Board of Directors as an independent director. Mr. Marks is currently the chief investment officer of insurer CUNA Mutual Group and has over 30 years of experience working in the insurance industry.